RSS Feed

The Mirror Inside

Posted on

Well it’s been awhile since the last time I sat down at the computer but I have spend the last couple weeks really looking inward and challenging some of my belief systems. I know how I want to live my life, but sometimes living it is a whole-nother ball game – and that is what I have spend the last couple weeks contemplating. Why? Why I am standing in my own way? Why am I allowing my toxic negative thoughts consume me somedays? Why do I have no problem talking negatively about some of the pessimistic people in my life?

When I have moments like I have had the last couple weeks, clarity begins to restore itself but it takes a long cold look at the mirror inside to see what it is I have been reflecting to the world – and it hasn’t been pretty. But the thing I love most is that it only takes one moment to completely change it. I like to get back to the basics of what I love – this weekend, I spent time in my garden, danced a little by myself, went to a hockey game with my family, baked some good for you cookies and changed the way I was feeling- because in all honesty, I have no business with being negative. I have far to many amazing people, who do nothing but fill me up with gratitude and love and things in my life to ever complain.

I have never understood why it is so much easier to talk about what we don’t have than what we do have – why is the basis of so many relationships built on tearing other people down? Why does complaining make us feel better for a moment? I can only chalk it up to fear – it takes so much more courage to stand against what everyone else at the water station is doing but this has become my new mission. I am only interested in going into this world with love, one step at a time. And I am only interested with talking to myself with respect- cause if you heard the way I talk to myself sometimes, people would truly wonder.

The key to life is not rocket science – it really isn’t – but it takes a great deal of courage and determination – just be happy. be grateful for what you have. be open to new opportunities. and walk this planet with love for every single thing around you. because life is just to damn short.

xo nicki

Leave a Reply

