RSS Feed

Open the floodgates…

Posted on

I have been reading a lot lately and every time I read a new book, blog post or message, I look for the items that continue to pop out at me – I think that is the message I am meant to take away with me. For the last week that message has been loud and very very clear…. FORGIVE.

I am not a person who has collected enemies or childhood resentments, however practising forgiveness is exactly that – a practice, and for me now a daily one. It could be the man who cut you off on your way to work, the little old lady in front of you in the grocery line who is taking forever, the father that you felt abandoned you, the friend who betrayed your trust or it could be you. I have been focused on forgiving myself – for not being exactly where I thought I would, for letting my weight get to the point it has, for allowing my negative thoughts surrounding my accident consume me for over a year, for feeling guilty about needing time for myself when I have a husband and child who I could be spending time with, for allowing my paycheque and position to dictate my self worth… the list is long and the criticisms constant but today I am choosing forgiveness. 

Forgiveness is the key to freedom – beautiful, life altering freedom. When you hold on to something that has upset you or hurt you or a your own negative self talk, you feel it in every muscle and bone in your body. Just take a minute to think about someone or something that upset you over the past couple of days, you can feel your body harden, your forehead becomes hard and quite frankly you just feel icky.

Forgiveness is a step to change and although sometimes life doesn’t seem fair, holding on is allowing those people or situations to control the rest of your life. So if you are holding onto a grudge or find yourself easily irritated by people – take a moment to stop, forgive and release. The key to your own happiness lies in opening the flood gates of forgiveness.

xo nicki

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful!!

    Reply
  2. Love it.
    Of course you made me cry. No truer words spoken I often feel the guilt of wanting more ME time as well wishing I could go a day with out pain, without being told and feeling selfish. I wish to spend more time with the family with out being so tired. Love to you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

